Because I am a girl!

Monika
3 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

I am a girl!

At the tender age of 4 years, I was asked to go with my grandmother leaving my toys, my mom dad, and my friends, and most importantly my native place to a place where I have to survive alone at such a small age because my grandmother was already old and I, who myself can’t take care of my shits was told to take care of my grandmother and her households.

Yes, I am a girl,

Back then I was a kid only and living with my grandmother was a feeling of paradise for me. It was only after getting into my teens I understand being a girl what losses I have gone through. I lost my age without my mother’s care, I lost my toys and friends and my playtimes and many cute kinds of stuff which could have been part of mine, but now they no longer belong to me.

Yes, I am a girl

You could understand a girl needs her father during her studies and her mother the most in her early teens. Forget about choices in life I was even deprived of my own family in life’s most crucial moment.
In my childhood only I had this cousin who use to give me chocolates and chips but he uses to make me sit on his lap.

Yes, I am a Girl!

This continued and still, I managed to survive until the death of my grandmother. And during this survival process, I had to take care of all the household chores.

Why, because I am a Girl!

Even after the cremation function, the same cousin found me alone in my room where I was crying alone and he tried to take advantage of me.

Because I am a girl!

I thought to share these sufferings that I have lived through all these years. But I didn’t find a shoulder to rely on. No one was there. And gradually I understood I have to neither this society nor this family of mine would understand me ever.

Anyways, when I moved back in with my parents, I thought let me cherish the remaining moments of my teenage but then started the process of restrictions on a girl. From studies to going outside.

Because I was a growing girl!

I couldn’t even select a carrier of my choice, because my family is like how can a girl do a private or night shift job.

l Met a guy at a family function. And our relationship blossomed like a new rosebud until the leaves started shredding. Yes, I never thought that even after being with me for 5 years he put allegations about me for talking to my cousins.

Why because I am a girl!

He even refused to talk to me and the rest is history because I am a girl who was born to suffer.

Even at present, my choice was to make a carrier in Graphic Designing but my family has already forced me to go for a government job only. They are not even interested in knowing what I want.

Because I am a girl!

The most painful thing that hurts a girl in me is not the Period pains or the household work but this,

EVEN THE WORLD SAYS TO TREAT THEM EQUALLY, BUT IN REALITY, WE ARE BEING PRESSURIZED TO NOT LIVE A LIFE OF OUR OWN CHOICE BY THE SAME SOCIETY AND FAMILY IN THE END.

Thank you so much for reading. Join Medium here for more stories like this.

#Society#Growing Girl#equality

--

--

Monika

I am a motivational Writer!! Content Writer!! Chemistry Lover !! Poetry Lover!!